Count On It

So, our countertops were awful.  Apparently the trend in the early 90s when our house was built, was to leave an exposed oak edge and cover the whole surface in tacky colors of patterned laminate.  Just like the large sleeves on satin and lace bridesmaids dresses, it was time that this trend became a part of history.

So let’s get down to business-  counter tops aren’t cheap.  Decent granite counter tops cost between $25-60/square foot depending how on you have them installed and how large your slabs would be.  Geez, I don’t know about you, but we don’t have the kind of money laying around.  Before I started brainstorming about kitchen counter top options, I measured my area.  Our kitchen has about 48.5 square feet of countertops.  That wasn’t even including a back splash.  I am no math major, but that would put us in the $1300-2900 range just for the materials!  No way Jose.  Here in the Culbertson house, we are on a pretty tight budget.  If this kitchen was going to get a makeover, it was going to be done on the cheap.  After doing some research, I ran across this piece of goodness.

Lagan Butcher Block Counter top Slab

As I was sitting on our couch, little bells began to ring and behold, a halo of light surrounded my Mac Book and it hit me- these were our new counter tops.  At $59 for a 96 inch long piece, I calculated that we would need 3 pieces to do all of our counter space.  It was like finding your wedding dress, I just knew they were the ones.

Again, we are on a tight budget, so I got creative in how to make $180 to be able to purchase these babies in cold hard cash.  I’ll explain later in a different post. 🙂

Any who- one day in the early part of April, we convinced my parents to take a spontaneous trip to IKEA so we could pick these up.  We knew they wouldn’t fit in my sweet Mazda or Hub’s red Hyundai, so we took Dad’s SUV and trailer down to strap them in.  I don’t have any pictures from the event, but I can brag about the fact that I tweeted about it and IKEA tweeted me back!
At the end of the day, we had 3 pieces of the large slabs of Lagan counter top, a new light, mesh trash can, and 4 free meals courtesy of IKEA.  I bet you probably want to know how the counter tops turned out.  Check back!

About wildandwonderuffle

Novice DIY'er, wife, Lord willing someday mother, wannabe foodie, wearer of accidentally mismatched clothing, and social media junkie.
This entry was posted in renovations and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Count On It

  1. TOO funny! We’re going to be putting the same countertops in our kitchen. They really are quite the steal!

Leave a Reply

